Alternate Text   Login Alternate Text    Register
Braille & Daisy Site 
 Change Region    
  Text Size  Blog
Select Region...
x
 

(or press ESC or click the overlay)

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Book Detail
Crossing the Lines
Crossing the Lines (Large Print)
by Sulari Gentill
Publisher Poisoned Pen Press
Published on: 01 August 2017
Categories Literary, Fiction
Choose Format:


Please select a format that suits you better from the drop down menu above. If you have trouble in selecting the right format you can check our Format Selection Guide.
Our Price: US$24.99
 

Volume(s): 1
Format Details: 16pt, Verdana
ISBN(s): 9781525253775
This format will be produced on demand and shipped within 7-14 days.
About the Book
Sulari Gentill, author of the 1930s Rowland Sinclair Mysteries, jumps to the post-modern in Crossing the Lines. A successful writer, Madeleine, creates a character, Edward, and begins to imagine his life. He, too, is an author. Edward is in love with a woman, Willow, who's married to a man Edward loathes, and who loathes him, but he and Willow stay close friends. She's an artist. As Madeleine develops the plot, Edward attends a gallery show where a scummy critic is flung down a flight of fire stairs...murdered. Madeleine, still stressed from her miscarriages and grieving her inability to have a child, grows more and more enamored of Edward, spending more and more time with him and the progress of the investigation and less with her physician husband, Hugh, who in turn may be developing secrets of his own. As Madeline engages more with Edward, he begins to engage back. A crisis comes when Madeleine chooses the killer in Edward's story and Hugh begins to question her immersion in her novel. Yet Crossing the Lines is not about collecting clues and solving crimes. Rather it's about the process of creation, a gradual undermining of the authority of the author as the act of writing spirals away and merges with the story being told, a self-referring narrative crossing over boundaries leaving in question who to trust, and who and what is true. For fans of Paul Auster, Jesse Kellerman, Vera Caspary's Laura, Martin Amis, Haruki Murakami, Marisha Pessl
About the Author
Sulari Gentill set out to study astrophysics, ended up graduating in law, and later abandoned her legal career to write books instead of contracts. When the mood takes her, she paints, although she maintains that she does so only well enough to know that she should write. She grows French black truffles on her farm in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains of New South Wales, which she shares with her young family and several animals. Sulari is author of the award-winning Rowland Sinclair Mysteries, a series of historical crime fiction novels set in the 1930s about Rowland Sinclair, the gentleman artist-cum-amateur-detective. The first in the series, A Few Right Thinking Men was shortlisted for Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best First Book. A Decline in Prophets, the second in the series, won the Davitt Award for Best Adult Crime Fiction. Miles Off Course was released in early 2012, Paving the New Road was released in late 2012 and was shortlisted for the Davitt Award for best crime fiction 2013. Gentlemen Formerly Dressed was released in November 2013. Under the name S.D. Gentill, Sulari also writes a fantasy adventure series called The Hero Trilogy. All three books in the trilogy, Chasing Odysseus Trying War and The Blood of Wolves are out now, and available in paperback, in a trilogy pack, and as an eBook.
Books in Similar Category


This section contains 6 books
Chosen One
Chosen One


will be available on 04 December 2017, Interested? subscribe here
War Flower
War Flower


US$ 35.99
Fractured Refugee
Fractured Refugee


US$ 24.99
By the Currawong's Call
By the Currawong's Call


will be available on 20 November 2017, Interested? subscribe here
In Pursuit of a Bluestocking
In Pursuit of a Bluestocking


US$ 24.99
The Modern Woman's Guide to Finding a Knight
The Modern Woman's Guide to Finding a Knight


US$ 24.99