Alternate Text   Login Alternate Text    Register
Braille & Daisy Site 
 Change Region    
  Text Size  Blog
Select Region...

(or press ESC or click the overlay)

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Book Detail
And Then the Sky Exploded
And Then the Sky Exploded (Large Print)
by David A. Poulsen
Publisher Dundurn Press
Published on: 12 October 2017
Categories Junior & Teen Fiction
Choose Format:

Please select a format that suits you better from the drop down menu above. If you have trouble in selecting the right format you can check our Format Selection Guide.
Our Price: US$19.99

Volume(s): 1
Format Details: 16pt, Verdana
ISBN(s): 9781525262937
This format will be produced on demand and shipped within 7-14 days.
About the Book
A ninth-grader learns about the Hibakusha (Japanese atomic-bomb survivors), their struggles, and his own grandfather's role in them A compelling look at the horror of war through the eyes of those who lived it and those who haven't Story is seen through the eyes of a group of North American teenagers grappling with intense and confusing feelings about the suffering of WWII Author David Poulsen, having researched and written award-winning books about wars in Vietnam and France, creates a well-researched look at the horror of war in Japan and its impact on innocent people Author's previous book, Old Man, was shortlisted for the Forest of Reading White Pine Award and Numbers was awarded the Sakura Medal (Japan), and was a finalist for the R. Ross Annett Award (Alberta) and ForeWord Magazine's Book of the Year Award for Young Adult Fiction
About the Author
David A. Poulsen has been a broadcaster, teacher, football coach, and actor, who spends eighty to one hundred days each year as a visiting author in schools across Canada. He is the author of more than twenty books, including Old Man, which was short-listed for the Forest of Reading White Pine award, and Numbers which won the Sakura Medal in Japan. He lives in the foothills west of Claresholm, Alberta.
Books in Similar Category

This section contains 6 books
Catch Me When You Fall
Catch Me When You Fall

will be available on 02 January 2018, Interested? subscribe here
I Am Algonquin
I Am Algonquin

US$ 24.99
Kid Soldier
Kid Soldier

US$ 18.99

US$ 19.99
Beautiful Goodbye
Beautiful Goodbye

US$ 17.99
Scion of the Fox
Scion of the Fox

US$ 36.99