ReadHowYouWant

View Cart Book has been added to your cart.
Hear Me Roar
Hear Me Roar
The Story of a Stay-At-Home Dad
In the tradition of Nigel Marsh's Fat, Forty and Fired comes Hear Me Roar - telling it like it really is for the man about the house.Ben Robertson was a successful journalist when he and his wife decided to have children. In a life - changing move, Ben enthusiastically volunteered for the role of Mr Mum while his wife became the main breadwinner.Written with an engaging mix of humour and brutal honesty, Ben's story covers the raising of his two sons over five years. As a stay - at - home dad Ben is pushed to the depths of tiredness, frustration and despair, moments shared equally with the heights of great joy and energy. What emerges is a unique understanding of the price many women pay when they stay at home to look after the children. Hear Me Roar offers insight into the deeper emotional territory of the effects of children on relationships and the changing role of men in families. Looking after children is easily the hardest and most rewarding job Ben has done. Why then does it sometimes leave him feeling lonely and confused and lacking in confidence? Tackling these child - rearing issues honestly from a man's perspective makes this book a rare read on being a dad, warts and all. Ben Robertson is a former journalist with the Courier - Mail and Sunday Mail. He was bureau chief of their Gold Coast and North Queensland newsrooms in the early 1990s before becoming a reporter with WIN television based in Cairns and Townsville. He has worked as a freelance journalist and sub - editor for IPC Magazines in London and later for Brisbane News magazine where he wrote an architecture column and travel features.
Read more Show less

US$ 32.99



Book Author
Ben Robertson
Genre Biography & Autobiography , Comedy & Humour , Family, Health & Fitness
Binding
PERFECT BINDING (PAPERBACK)
ISBN
9781459691766
Publisher
University Queensland Press
Approximate delivery

10 - 15 Days (?)

Publication Date
28-Jan-2015