ReadHowYouWant

    View Cart Book has been added to your cart.
    BestSeller
    Esther's Children
    Esther's Children
    From the picturesque streets of pre-war Vienna to Britain's atmospheric cities in the grip of war, Esther's Children is the perfect read for fans of Kate Quinn's The Alice Network, and Kelly Rimmer's The Warsaw Orphan. Inspired by the extraordinary life of Esther Simpson, Esther's Children is a powerful novel of love and courage. Austria, 1936: Esther 'Tess' Simpson works for a British organisation that rescues academics from the cruel Fascist and anti-Semitic regimes taking hold in Europe. On a dangerous trip to Vienna to help bring aid to Europe's threatened Jewish scholars, Esther meets Harry Singer, a young Jewish academic and musician. Tess works tirelessly to rescue at-risk academics and scientists from across Europe, trying to find positions for them in Britain and America. In 1938, she secures employment for Harry at Imperial College, London, their love affair intensifying as the world heads into war; yet they are separated once again as Britain moves to intern European refugees. With Harry detained on the Isle of Man while still waiting for news of his parents, Esther and the Society plead with the government for the interned scientists' release. When Harry is eventually liberated, his future with Esther is by no means secure as he faces an impossible choice. Confronting the horrific dangers of World War Two with remarkable integrity and bravery, Esther Simpson is revealed as an exceptional heroine. Praise for Finding Eadie:'A riveting, heart-stopping read that features fascinating insight into London's wartime publishing world.' - Woman's Day'[Beecham's] characters are likeable and real, her writing is engaging and the subject matter is gripping.' - The Weekly Times'This moving story of Alice's fearless pursuit of her baby contains all the ingredients of a spy thriller ... A wonderful page-turner with great relevance for our times.' - The Chronicle
    Read more Show less

    AU$ 59.99











    Book Author
    Caroline Beecham
    Genre Fiction
    Binding
    PERFECT BINDING (PAPERBACK)
    Format
    Large Print 16 Pt Edition (Standard Large Print)
    ISBN
    9780369384591
    Publisher
    Allen & Unwin Book Publishers
    Age Range
    General
    Approximate delivery

    Up to 20 business days (?)

    Publication Date
    25-May-2022

    Related Books


    More Books by Author





    in purchased.