ReadHowYouWant

    View Cart Book has been added to your cart.
    BestSeller
    The Hurt Business
    The Hurt Business
    American Writers on Boxing
    From Jack London to Joyce Carol Oates, The Hurt Business is the ultimate boxing book covering a century of the greatest fighter and the writers who have followed 'the sweet science'. Beginning with Jack London's account of the 1910 championship bout between Jack Johnson and James Jeffries (for which the Call of the Wildman called for and coined the term ''''The Great White Hope''''), and ending with Carlo Rotella's 2002 homage to Larry Holmes (''''Champion at Twilight''''), The Hurt Business is a near century's worth of rip - roaring reveal. Some of it comes ringside, like Norman Mailer et; some of it comes from the gym, like Pete Hamill's ''''Up the Stairs with Cus D'Amato''''; and some of it comes from so far behind the scenes you feel as if you've been eavesdropping - Thomas Hauser's excerpt from The Black Lights. For fans of Norman Mailer's The Fight or George Kimball's Four Kings: Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Duran and the Last Great Era of Boxing, The Hurt Business belongs on the shelves of any fan of boxing or sublime sports writing.
    Read more Show less

    CA$ 69.98





    Book Author
    George Kimball, John Schulian and Colum McCann
    Genre Sports & Recreation
    Binding
    PERFECT BINDING (PAPERBACK)
    Format
    Large Print 16 Pt Edition (Standard Large Print)
    ISBN
    9781459677791,9781459677807
    Publisher
    Aurum Press Ltd
    Age Range
    General
    Approximate delivery

    Up to 20 business days (?)

    Publication Date
    27-Mar-2014

    Related Books






    in purchased.