ReadHowYouWant

    View Cart Book has been added to your cart.
    BestSeller
    The Natural History of Love
    The Natural History of Love
    For fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's The Signature of All Things and Pip Williams' The Dictionary of Lost Words The Natural History of Love is based upon the true story of 19th century French explorer, naturalist and diplomat the Count de Castelnau and his lover Madame Foneçeca; a sweeping historical narrative set in the wilds of Brazil, salons of Paris and the early days of Melbourne's settlemen. When Melbourne lawyer Nathan Smithson takes on the case of mad, wealthy Edward Foneçeca's inheritance trial against his ruthless brother in 1902, he must unearth long-buried family secrets to have any chance of winning. Brazil, 1852: François, the Count de Castelnau and French Consul to Bahia falls dangerously ill on a naturalist expedition and is delivered by a Tupi Indian to the Foneçeca household. Carolina Foneçeca is 16 years old and longing to leave the confines of her family's remote Brazilian sugar plantation. With a head full of Balzac and dreams of Parisian life, she is instantly beguiled by the middle-aged Frenchman. What Carolina doesn't know is that François has a wife and son back in France. Desperate for a new life, she makes a decision that will haunt her forever.
    Read more Show less

    NZ$ 59.99











    Book Author
    Caroline Petit
    Genre Historical , Fiction
    Binding
    PERFECT BINDING (PAPERBACK)
    Format
    Large Print 16 Pt Edition (Standard Large Print)
    ISBN
    9780369386038
    Publisher
    Affirm Press
    Age Range
    General
    Approximate delivery

    UP TO 30 DAYS (?)

    Publication Date
    21-Jun-2022

    Related Books





    in purchased.